/ Menace Beach

TRACKS // Menace Beach - Tastes Like Medicine

Leeds indie rock outfit Menace Beach have shared a new track this morning from their forthcoming debut album Ratworld. The band, a revolving cast of local Leeds luminaries, is lead by Ryan Needham (vocals and guitar) and Liza Violet (vocals, keyboards, guitar), ably assisted by Hookworm’s singer Matthew ‘MJ’ Johnson on guitar and production duties, Nestor Matthews on drums and Matt Spalding on bass.

With the full-length dropping mid-January, the band are hitting the road in the New Year with a number of dates across the UK. Of the record's title, Needham says “We’ve created our own grubby little Ratworld to inhabit. Everything is better when it’s a bit grubby and broken”. The idea encompasses more than the title alone, though. Gritty indie elements wrestle with hooky choruses and an on-the-edge-of-breakdown energy flying through a psyche tinged wonderland. Comfort in chaos.

Stream "Tastes Like Medicine" below. Ratworld is out 19 January 2015 via Memhphis Industries and available to preorder digitally now on iTunes


19 January - Leeds, Jumbo Records (Instore)
20 January - Nottingham, Rough Trade (Instore)
22 January - Kingston, New Slang (Album Release Show)
25 January – Broadcast, Glasgow
26 January – The Castle, Manchester
27 January – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
28 January – Louisiana, Bristol
29 January – Sebright Arms, London
30 January – Prince Albert, Brighton
01 February – Brudenell, Leeds